5 Reasons I’m Doing Cloth Diapers “Next Time Around”

When it comes to “going green,” I try to do what I can. I make all of our household cleaning products, we recycle, I carpool to work a few days a week… you get the idea.

Baby steps, sure. But trying to do our part.

Fast forward to when I was pregnant with our daughter and I was captivated by the idea of cloth diapers. First, I was astounded just how far cloth had come from the early days of safety pins. As I learned more, it seemed like a no-brainer: good for the environment, cheaper than disposables, super cute designs. Totally doable.

But then my daughter was born and a bomb went off in our world things changed.

With post-partum depression and nursing issues, not to mention how busy you are with a fussy newborn (I don’t know about you, but my kid cried a lot), let’s just say my big, green ideas went right in the Diaper Genie.

So, the cloth diapers we had purchased basically hung out in a basket the first 6 months of our daughter’s life. And even after that, we’d only put them on her occasionally. Far from what I envisioned.

Now, Cora is 20 months and we’ve recently re-committed to cloth diapering “from here on out” (that is, until she’s potty trained) and I’m realizing more and more that, if we decide to hop on the baby train again, we’re so on board (pun intended) with doing cloth from the get-go. Here’s why:

  1. All the laundry. You’d think this would be a bad thing, but it’s actually been good for us. Having cloth diaper laundry has helped us keep up on our other laundry, which, in a weird way, makes me feel more on top of things.
  2. Dolla bills, ya’ll. It really is a huge cost savings, especially if you consider the fact that you can use them for future kiddos too.
  3. They are totes cute. They are so much cuter than disposables. Not only do they come in cute patterns and designs, but they don’t “sag” like disposables.
  4. Been there, done that. I’m probably jinxing myself here, but I feel like it’d be easier to do cloth with future kiddos because we won’t be first time parents the next time around. And maybe we’ll be less affected by the impact of having a new baby around? I’m Ron Burgundy? (Parents of 2, 3, 4, etc. are having a laugh right now)
  5. Okay, Mother Earth, too. No judgment here, but thinking about each of our disposable diapers sitting in a landfill is one of the main reasons I was drawn to cloth in the first place.

What about you other parents out there? What has been your experience with cloth? Have you done a hybrid (sometimes cloth, sometimes disposables)?

Leave a Reply

